Cisco Unified Presence, Release 7.x -- How to Shut Down and Restart the Cisco Unified Operating System

From DocWiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Main page: Cisco Unified Presence, Release 7.x

Contents

Previous Topic



System Operations

You may need to choose from the following options to shut down or restart the system:

  • Shutdown-Stops all running software and shuts down the server.
  • Switch Versions-Switches the active and inactive disk partitions and restarts the system. You normally select this option after the inactive partition has been updated and you want to start running a newer software version.
  • Restart-Restarts the system without switching partitions.

Note: To power down the server, press the power button. Note, however, that this action may lead to file system corruption and is not recommended.


Shutting Down the System

Procedure
  1. Log in to Cisco Unified Operating System Administration.
  2. Select Settings > Version.
  3. Perform one of the following actions:
    1. Click Shutdown to halt all processes and shut down the system.
    2. Click Cancel to stop the operation.


Troubleshooting Tips

The hardware does not power down automatically. If you press the power button on the server, the system will immediately shut down.


Related Topics


What To Do Next

How to Work with Disk Partitions


How to Work with Disk Partitions


Reverting a Cisco Unified Presence Node to a Previous Version

When you are upgrading to a newer software version and when you need to fall back to an earlier software version, you can shut down the system that is running on the active disk partition and then automatically restart the system using the software version on the inactive partition. The software version running on both the active and inactive partitions is indicated.


Caution! This procedure causes the system to restart and become temporarily out of service.


Before You Begin

Upgrade the database on the active partition. The database on the inactive partition does not get updated. If you make changes to the database after an upgrade, you must repeat those changes after switching the partition.


Procedure
  1. Log in to Cisco Unified Operating System Administration.
  2. Select Settings > Version.
  3. Perform one of the following actions:
  4. Click Switch Versions to switch versions and restart the system.
  5. Click Cancel to stop the operation.


Troubleshooting Tips
  • If you click Switch Versions, the system restarts, and the partition that is currently inactive becomes active.
  • After you verify that you want to restart the system, the system restarts, which might take up to 15 minutes.


Related Topics


Restarting the Current Version

You can restart the system on the current partition without switching versions.


Caution! This procedure causes the system to restart and become temporarily out of service.


Before You Begin

Shut down the system on which the active version is running.


Procedure
  1. Log in to Cisco Unified Operating System Administration.
  2. Select Settings > Version.
  3. Perform one of the following actions:
  4. Click Restart to restart the system.
  5. Click Cancel to stop the operation.


Troubleshooting Tips

If you click Restart, the system restarts on the current partition without switching versions.


Related Topics

Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

Personal tools