Cisco Unified MeetingPlace, Release 6.x -- About Purging Attachments and Recordings
Maintenance Release 3 and Later
The "Days until mtg stats purged" parameter in MeetingTime controls all purging activity including purging web conferencing attachments. See About Managing User Access.
Maintenance Release 2 and Earlier
Each Cisco Unified MeetingPlace web server has its own purge parameter called Purge Meetings Held Before (Days). By configuring this parameter, you can control how often meetings and their associated recordings and attachments, collectively referred to as MeetingNotes, are purged from the local web server database and from the shared storage location, if configured. The default is after 60 days.
See the following sections:
- About the MeetingNotes Purge Parameter and SMA-2S Configurations
- Setting the Purge Meetings Held Before Parameter
About the MeetingNotes Purge Parameter and SMA-2S Configurations
In Maintenance Release 2 and earlier, if you have a segmented meeting access configuration with two web servers (SMA-2S), two Cisco Unified MeetingPlace web servers work together as a single system. One web server is installed internally behind the corporate firewall and is accessible only to internal users. The second web server is installed as an external server with attend-only access, and is located outside of the corporate firewall in a DMZ zone. In this type of configuration, each web server-internal or external-has its own purge parameter.
The value of this parameter controls how long MeetingNotes are stored on the server after a meeting is over. For example, if you set the purge parameter on your internal web server to 60 days, MeetingNotes are kept for 60 days on the internal server. After 60 days, they are deleted from that server. If you set the purge parameter on your external server to 30 days, MeetingNotes are kept for 30 days on the external server. After 30 days, they are deleted from that server.
After MeetingNotes are purged, users can no longer review past meetings, including:
- Downloading any attachments that were associated with the meeting
- Listening to audio recordings
- Listening to the synchronized audio and data conference recordings
The following sections provide information about internal server and DMZ server behaviors:
File Access and Retrieval
Internal and external users use different methods to access past meeting details and attachments.
- Internal users can access the internal server between 0 and 60 days from the time the meeting ended -- Cisco Unified MeetingPlace Web Conferencing indicates that this is a past meeting and displays all of the meeting details. Users can retrieve attachments.
- External users can access meeting details and attachments after the meeting has ended by clicking the click-to-attend link in the meeting notification. They may be able to retrieve attachments for up to 24 hours after the end of the meeting by accessing the external (DMZ) server.
Purge Value Consistency
If the meeting was public, the web recording only exists on the external (DMZ) server. Therefore, even though you cannot access MeetingNotes (attachments and recordings) directly from the DMZ server after the first day, if you are using Maintenance Release 2 or earlier, keep the purge window the same on both the internal server and the DMZ server to ensure that users have access to all MeetingNotes.
- The purge setting on the internal server is set to 60 days and the purge setting on the DMZ server is set to 30 days (DMZ purge value < Internal purge value).
- Users access the internal web server to review a past meeting between 0 and 60 days. They are able to access all attachments except for the web recording (the synchronized data conferencing and audio recording). This is because the web recording exists on the DMZ server and is not yet available.
- Users access the internal server anytime between 30 and 60 days to retrieve the web recording. The internal server must go to the DMZ server to retrieve the web recording file for playback. However, because the DMZ server is set to purge after 30 days, the synchronized web recording file has already been purged. Therefore, when users click on the web recording, they receive a message that says the recording is not available.
Setting the Purge Meetings Held Before Parameter
For Maintenance Release 2 and earlier, the Purge Meetings Held Before parameter affects the length of time meeting information is kept on both the local server and the shared storage location, if configured.
To Set the Purge Meetings Held Before Parameter
- Sign in to Cisco Unified MeetingPlace Web Conferencing.
- From the Welcome page, click Admin , then click Web Server .
- From the "View" section of the page, click the name of the web server that you want to configure.
- From the "Web Server Customization Values" section, enter the number of days for Purge Meetings Held Before . The default is 60.
- Click Submit .