Cisco Unified MeetingPlace, Release 6.x -- About Managing Notifications

From DocWiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Cisco Unified MeetingPlace, Release 6.x > Cisco Unified MeetingPlace Audio Server > Maintaining > Managing and Maintaining




Cisco Unified MeetingPlace can automatically send out e-mail notifications to all invited participants whenever users schedule, reschedule, or cancel meetings. This depends on the integration products purchased and a user's profile preference settings. Notifications are not distributed for reservationless meetings.


The Cisco Unified MeetingPlace Notification Option requires little monitoring or maintenance. However, situations may arise in which users need help determining the notification status of a particular meeting or request. This section describes how to review and diagnose any problems that may occur.


Contents

When Meeting Notifications Are Sent

Cisco Unified MeetingPlace automatically sends notifications to all meeting participants whenever one of the following events occur:

  • The meeting is scheduled
  • The meeting time is changed
  • The meeting ID is changed
  • The meeting password is changed
  • The meeting invitees are changed
  • Meeting attachments are added or replaced (This will not trigger a notification if the meeting is scheduled through Cisco Unified MeetingPlace for Outlook)
  • The meeting is cancelled
  • The "Allow Internet Access" setting changes


Viewing Server Notification Status

A Dispatch is a set of documents intended to be delivered by an integration application. Typical dispatches are notifications (and attachments if included) and reservationless meeting schedules. A notification-type dispatch may be initiated either by Cisco Unified MeetingPlace as the result of a scheduling event or a user-requested notification (called in by phone and requested meeting information).


To view the status of server notifications, such as the backlog of requests in the queue or the status of a particular event, do the following procedure.


To View the Status of Server Notifications
  1. In the MeetingTime System tab, select the Notification Queue Status action, then click Execute .
  2. In the status window, click the notification message whose status you want to view.
  3. In the Disposition area, view the notification status.
    The following are common causes of notification failure.
Failure Status Message Description

Party has notif off

The intended recipient selected None for both primary and alternate notification methods.

E-mail is not selected by user

The recipient selected e-mail as the notification method, however, the recipient did not specify the type e-mail system.

User has no primary notif method

The recipient did not specify a primary notification method.

4. To close the window, click Done .

To cancel notifications, see the Cancelling Server Notifications.

Viewing Meeting Notification Status

You may need further information to diagnose a particular problem. You can use the meeting ID, date and requester to locate a particular meeting, then view the status of specific meeting notifications in the Schedule, Attend, or Review tabs.


To View Meeting Notification Status
  1. In the Schedule, Attend, or Review tab, click the meeting record whose status you want to view.
  2. Click the Participants button.
  3. For the Notification area, click the Status button.
    The Notification Status window opens. If a document is attached to the meeting, information about that document displays in the Attachment Information list. For information about an attachment, click the Details button.
  4. Click Done .


Cancelling Server Notifications

After viewing the notification status information and diagnosing any problems, you can cancel one or all notifications. Reasons for canceling a notification can include:

  • A user determines they incorrectly invited participants to a meeting.
  • A user attached a non-renderable image to a meeting.


To Cancel Server Notifications
  1. In the Server Notification Status window, click the notification message you want to cancel.
  2. Click Cancel Notification (to cancel only the selected notification) or Cancel All (to cancel all notifications).
    When the verification message appears, click Yes to cancel the selected notifications
  3. Click Done to exit.


Managing Workstation Connections

To help you manage the number of workstation connections available to users, Cisco Unified MeetingPlace offers the options described in Table: Workstation Connections Options.


Table: Workstation Connections Options
You Can Description

View current connections

The Current PC Connections topic in the System tab allows you to view MeetingTime connections and integration applications that are currently logged in.


The PC Connections dialog box displays a user ID, client type, and IP address for each active connection. Click the Update button to refresh the dialog box as needed.

Always allow system manager access

There may be times when all MeetingTime licenses are in use for scheduling, attending, or reviewing conferences.


When all MeetingTime licenses have been used up, the system allows one system administrator to enter the system.

Log off from idle connections

By using the Usage Parameters topic in the Configure tab, you can assign the Minutes Before Auto Logoff parameter to specify how long MeetingTime connections remain idle.


This parameter controls the number of minutes that a MeetingTime connection can be idle before the connection is severed. You may find that users are logged on to MeetingTime but not actively using the system.

Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

Personal tools