Cisco Unified MeetingPlace, Release 7.0 -- How to Configure User Groups

From DocWiki

Revision as of 23:48, 17 December 2009 by Docwikibot (Talk | contribs)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

Main page: Cisco Unified MeetingPlace, Release 7.0

Up one level: Configuration



User groups contain information that can be inherited by user profiles. In each user profile, the Group name field identifies the user group to which the user profile belongs. Many of the fields in the user profile can be set to the group default, which means that the field value in the assigned user group becomes the field value used in the user profile. When you configure a field in a user group, that field is automatically updated in each user profile within the group, provided that the field is set to group default in the user profile.


To override a user group field configuration within an individual user profile, set the field in the user profile to a value other than group default. Further updates to the field in the user group will not affect the field in the user profile.



Contents

System User Group

Cisco Unified MeetingPlace comes preconfigured with a user group called System. Except for the name, all fields in the System user group can be modified. You cannot, however, delete the System user group.


The values configured in the System user group are used as the default values in new groups that are added manually or by import.


The System user group is assigned to user profiles as follows:

  • By default, the System user group is assigned to the preconfigured user profiles.
  • If no configured filters apply, then the System user group is assigned to Directory Service user profiles as they are imported from Cisco Unified Communications Manager into Cisco Unified MeetingPlace.
  • If a user group is deleted, then any user profiles that were assigned to that user group are automatically assigned to the System user group.


Related Topics



Recommendations for User Groups

  • Add at least one user group, so that you can easily manage and configure system administrator profiles separately from end-user profiles. For example, a simple setup can use the following two user groups:
    • Administrator -- Assign to the preconfigured admin profile and to the user profiles of any other system administrators. Enable all privileges for users in this group.
    • System (preconfigured) -- Assign to end-user profiles and to the preconfigured guest profile, which is used as a template for new user profiles. Some guest profile fields are also applied to guest users.
  • If you use the find me dial-out feature with non-direct-dial pagers, you need at least one user group for each pager system phone number that is shared by your users.
  • Before importing any user profiles, make sure that you create or import the user groups to which the imported user profiles belong.
  • Use as many group default settings as you can in your user profiles:
    • The more group default settings you have in each user profile, the more easily you can maintain user profiles for similar users.
    • The more group default settings you have in the preconfigured guest profile, the more easily you can create user profiles for similar users, because the guest profile is used as a template for new user profiles.


Related Topics



Adding or Editing a User Group Manually

Before You Begin


Procedure
  1. Log in to the Administration Center.
  2. Click User Configuration > User Groups.
  3. Click Edit or Add New, depending on whether you want to configure an existing or a new user group or user profile.
  4. Configure the fields.
  5. Click Save.
  6. Verify that your new user group appears in the User Groups Page.


Related Topics


What To Do Next

Proceed to Updating All Groups if you want the new or modified user group settings to take effect immediately. Otherwise, any changes or additions you make will take effect after the next Replication Service update, which occurs nightly.




Searching for a Specific User Group

Procedure
  1. Log in to the Administration Center.
  2. Click User Configuration > User Groups.
  3. Enter the name of the user group that you are looking for.
    • The entire name is not required.
    • The search tool is not case sensitive.
  4. Click Search.
  5. If the list of name matches is too long for you to quickly find a particular user group, perform one of the following actions:
    • Enter the entire name of the user group that you are looking for and click Search.
    • At the bottom right corner, use the page navigation tools, such as the arrows and Go buttons, to browse the long list of user groups.
  6. To view the profile configuration for a particular user group, click Edit in the same row as the user group.


Related Topics



Deleting a User Group

Before You Begin
  • If user profiles belong to a user group that gets deleted, those user profiles are automatically assigned to the system group.


Restriction

You cannot delete the system user group.


Procedure
  1. Log in to the Administration Center.
  2. Click User Configuration > User Groups.
  3. Search for the user group that you want to delete.
  4. Check the check box in the same row as the user group that you want to delete. You may select multiple user groups.
    Make sure that you uncheck any check boxes for user groups that you want to keep in the Cisco Unified MeetingPlace database.
  5. Click Delete Selected.
  6. When the confirmation pop-up window appears, click OK.
  7. Verify that the deleted user group does not appear in the User Groups Page.


Related Topics

Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

Personal tools